Blueberry cheesecake babka

I haven’t blogged in a while… So naughty! But this babka is worth the effort! I was actually searching for a cheesecake babka recipe online to no avail in the midst of my babka obsession which has nearly passed. Here’s my version of a blueberry cheesecake babka. I made my own blueberry jam for it which take just a few minutes honestly but feel free to use the jarred. Unlike my past babka recipe this one doesn’t freeze that well but will last a couple of days in a cake stand or similar that’s if you can refrain from eating it all in one sitting as me and boyfriend pretty much did! Oops not sorry.

 

INGREDIENTS

fullfat soft cheese 200g (I used Philadelphia)

dark brown sugar 50g

2 eggs

vanilla extract 1tsp

BLUEBERRY JAM

500g blueberries

100g sugar

lemon juice

 

for the dough refer to my original babka recipe.

METHOD

forst make the the jam if your making it and not buying in. This is really easy, simply boil blueberrys in 20 ml of water once nearly evaporated add the sugar and boil for a few minutes. Add the lemon and leave to cool.

Next is the cheer cake. soften the cheese in a bowl. Then add the sugar and mix well. Add the eggs and vanilla and set aside.

Once you’ve rolled out your dough spread the cheesecake thinly across the whole of the dough leaving a half an once edge, make sure it’s even. Then spread the jam on don’t worry if its messy there’s no other way. Twist it and add to the tin. I did find I had to use a bigger tin then I used for my original babka and I baked for the full 30 mins this time.

30 minutes in the oven at 170 a cheeky peek after 25 but it will need 30 or maybe even 35 use a cake tester to test it. Comes out smooth, cake free easy it’s good to be taken out. Leave to cool before glazing it. Refer to my original babka recipe for the glaze. Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

